Dealing with a Slow News Weekend

dsc03039It’s been a few months since I’ve hit the road, and I’m starting to feel the effects. For my work on Gadling, I’ve been relying on other news stories for reblog fodder, and my ol’ standby sites just aren’t delivering. It’s been pretty slow – which wouldn’t be a problem if I’d had some travel under my belt. Fortunately, I have a trip to Montreal coming on Thursday, so new material is only a few days away.

This small situation, limited to me, could indicate a future problem in the blogging world, though. As most blogs still rely heavily on reblogging to fill their pages, the decline of the traditional media space will put more pressure on people like me to originate content. Coming up with new stuff requires a significant commitment of time and resources, which would turn the existing blog business model on its head. Bloggers at sites across the market know this and are reacting to it, but a solution will take time.

I’ve been able to find sufficient fodder for the other blogs to which I contribute. There’s been a bit going on the art world, which has kept me busy for Luxist, and there’s always material hanging around for the likes of DailyFinance and BloggingStocks. But, I love travel, and the dearth of cool travel stories to cover has been a real pain in the ass. I plan to get a lot out of the Montreal gig, though, so the drought should come to a (temporary) end soon.

Leave a Reply

