Sheep

dsc029091I never fully realized how many sheep there are in Scotland. It’s nuts! Reminds me of a joke from my former profession:A man’s driving along a country road outside Edinburgh. In the distance, he ssees a shepherd, so he slows down and stops. Exiting the sports car, an obvious trapping of luxury, he approaches the Scot and says, “if I can tell you how many sheep you have, will you give me one?”

An accommodating and curious fellow, the shepherd replies with a laugh, “Sure, it would be my pleasure.

So, the cityslickin’ type extracts a laptop from the trunk of hi scar, connects to a satellite-based internet connection, grabs some data from Google Earth, processes it and smiles. “Sir,” he declares with pride, “You have 379 sheep,” and he scoops a beast under his arm.

“That’s quite impressive,” the shepherd observes. “Now, may I guess your profession?”

“Okay,” the man agrees, now with an air of condescension.

“you, my friend, are a management consultant.”

“Wow! How did you know that?” The visitor simultaneously reveals awe and alarm

“It was pretty easy, really,” the shepherd begins. “You arrived out of nowhere and offered to tell me something I already know in exchange for an exorbitant fee. And, you have no idea what you’re talking about.”

The consultant grimaces.

“Please,” the shepherd continues, “give me back my dog.”

Leave a Reply

