Scotland: Day 1

dsc04022Well, I’m looking back on my first full day in Scotland, and yes, it has been full. I got on a plane last night after a truly hellish day at day job, few overnight and hit the ground running this morning. Now, I am utterly fucking exhausted and blogging when I should be sleeping. But, I had a great time today, and I feel the need to share.

First, I’ve had some Scotch today. Not a ton, but enough to get a feel for it. I’m not a big fan of dark liquors, but I did enjoy the experience. It was nice to try something new. Trying to enjoy a cigar here has turned into an absolute fucking nightmare, but you can learn more about that in my article for the De La Concha blog. Finally, I had some amazing meals.

I’m staying in my current digs, The Dakota, for one night. It’s an interesting hotel. From the outside, the dark building has slight, bluish neon trim, making it look almost like a data center. The building has a dotcom boom feel, making me instantly comfortable (aside from having to smoke on the sidewalk with the wind ripping through my laptop keyboard). The rooms have a sleek design that don’t come at the expense of comfort. The shower has a great rainfall attachment, as well as a handheld device. Can’t beat it. There’s even a towel-warmer.

dsc03972

dsc039751

dsc03978

I’m pretty damned happy with the experience so far, and I’m looking forward to tomorrow (almost as much as I’m looking forward to a full night’s sleep, for a change). I definitely think this trip is going to be a hell of a lot better than my recent jaunt to Stockholm. Fingers crossed.

Leave a Reply

