Let’s Start to Like McCain Again

Paste Magazine

Source: Paste Magazine

Now that the election is over, I’d like to start liking John McCain again. I don’t share the man’s politics … not at all. I mean the man, not the role or the ideas. I didn’t like him as a candidate, and I’m happy he is not going to be our president. But, he’s done some great things for our country, and I’d like to focus on that again, for no other reason than his contributions. His service is no reason to make him president, but it does deserve our thanks and respect.

I put John McCain in the same category as Bob Dole. When Dole ran for president in 1996, I couldn’t stand him. Seriously. The man could do no right. But, my opinion of him changed … shit, it must’ve been 2002. I was watching the CNN and saw fotage of Dole sitting in a hospital, visiting soldiers from the 10th Mountain Division who had been wounded in Afghanistan. Dole served with 10th Mountain in WWII, so he had an unusual perspective to share. And he shared it … but not with the camera.

That’s what I loved about what I saw.

USNews.com

Source: USNews.com

Dole wasn’t there for the cameras; he was there for his fellow service members. He had a unique bond with men from his old unit. The cameras, for Dole, didn’t seem to exist. I start to get choked up even thinking about it now. My entire perspective changed in seconds, and I will never forget that.

This is what I want from John McCain. I want John McCain the hero back. I want the man who served his country for his own reasons. I don’t want to see his service used as a campaign tool; it doesn’t sit well with me.

Let’s not forget what McCain has done for his country, and let’s celebrate his contribution. The election is over. Let’s all be friends again.

3 thoughts on “Let’s Start to Like McCain Again

  1. Pingback: Democratic America, Goverment and Election » Let’s Start to Like McCain Again

  2. Der Alte

    “This is what I want from John McCain. I want John McCain the hero back. I want the man who served his country for his own reasons. I don’t want to see his service used as a campaign tool; it doesn’t sit well with me.”

    John McCain the hero never left, although many, perhaps rightly, left him during the campaign. He still serves, and probably could not do otherwise. His use of his service as a campaign tool is as excusable as Kerry’s was not; McCain never left the band of brothers, but kept the faith always.

    I’ve seen my share of politicians citing their service, some of which was notable, some not. Eisenhower, Kennedy, Johnson, Nixon, Carter, George H. W. Bush, Dole, Kerry, and McCain.

    Looking at the list, maybe they should have taken their cue from General William Tecumseh Sherman: “If drafted, I will not run; if nominated, I will not accept; if elected, I will not serve.”

    Reply
  3. migrantblogger Post author

    Kerry’s behavior was worse than McCain’s– no doubt. If McCain exploited his service, well, I don’t know what you’d call what Kerry did. There aren’t words to express the degree.

    With all this insanity behind us, I’m ready to put McCain where I put Dole … and yes, that’s a good thing.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

