My Vote Doesn’t Count

dsc03723Yes, I voted this year. But, as I checked off my choices, it became apparent ot me that my vote really didn’t matter. Sure, this doesn’t apply to the good folks of Pennsylvania, Florida or Ohio, but here in New York, for me: nothing.

I know this is an unpopular stance to take, particularly after an election characterized by long lines at the polls. But, I think it’s a fair question.

white-house-1First, I voted for president. Neither Obama nor McCain appealed to me. I’m a Libertarian, so I voted for Robert Barr. I was part of the rounding error, but this is the price you pay for voting your conscience instead of choosing the lesser of two evils.

The only other race that actually had two choices was the House of Representatives. Long-time incumbent Jerry Nadler might as well have been unopposed, as a result. The “lesser” offices offered only one candidate each. For judgeships, it looked like there were six candidates for four positions, but two candidates were listed in both Republican and Democrat columns.

So, practically, did my vote count at all?

Leave a Reply

