Bragging Rights on Digital Journal

I just found out last night that my article, “Small Victories for Cigar Shop: De La Concha Fights Smoking Ban One Dinner at a Time” was selected for DigitalJournal.com’s TopFinds Awards in the Lifestyle category. This is great news, as it will help increase the profile of my favorite cigar shop, De La Concha. Also, I offer my props to photog Steve Zak who did the shooting for the event.

According to the editor, David Silverberg:

Tom Johansmeyer introduced us to a cigar shop’s inventive way of circumventing New York’s restaurant smoking ban: a pre-cigar meal. Filled with poignant quotes and precise details, the article takes home the TopLifestyle Award for strong original reporting and underscoring the importance of finding a story among the nooks and crannies of a major city. Tom’s conclusion was tight, the headline was attractive and the photos nicely complemented the text.

I am fairly new to DigitalJournal.com, a citizen journalism website that (for a chance) is focused on the U.S. market. But, I have to admit I’m pretty happy with it. The only problem is that the payouts are not as generous as my other tool, OhmyNews.com. But, I think there may be room for both in my life.

Leave a Reply

