How to Civilize Helsinki

This started a while ago. When Laura and I went to the Cote d’Azure a year and a half ago, I griped incessantly about the fact that I couldn’t grab a slice of pizza for the road or take a cup of coffee and walk around. In Paris, this was not as big a problem, as there was a Starbucks– placed exactly where my favorite Parisian cafe used to be, but I’m not bitter. The only drawback is that you can only really walk around with a Starbucks coffee. Not my thing.

So, I decided that I would civilize France with pizza to go and coffee to match. A quick walk around Iceland and Finland indicates that the northern folks are substantially more civilized than the French and thus need less of my help. I saw plenty of pizza and hotdogs to go in Reykjavik, and Helsinki has Wayne’s Coffee, clearly inspired by the kind people at Starbucks (upscale quickservice restaurant in addition to coffee shop).

What is missing, though, are the fine imperialistic brands that make America the marketing machine that can pierce even French culture and Indian direct foreign investment laws. I’ve seen a few McD’s here (and hate them– I won’t eat that shit). I saw a Pizza Hut and kept truckin’. What I’m looking for is a Dunkin Donuts. If “America Runs on Dunkins,” couldn’t Finland?

2 thoughts on “How to Civilize Helsinki

  1. jeanett666

    “A quick walk around Iceland and Finland indicates that the northern folks are substantially more civilized than the French and thus need less of my help”
    that’s the first time I have heard that one..O.o (have u ever seen a norwegian or scandinavian on holiday where there is cheep beer?)

    you’re not the only one hate McDonalds(I really don’t understand how people can eat that junk) I am really glad that we don’t have all amercian junk, scandinavia is already to american… especially when it comes to music 😥 I hope u enjoyed finnish radio! they are great

    Reply
  2. migrantblogger Post author

    Jeanett6666– I define civilization as the ability to buy a cup of coffee and slice of pizza or hotdog for breakfast and walk around with it. I know; it’s quite strange. Do also note that I don’t believe, necessarily, in exporting American venues for it. Local businesses bringing people food on the run– that’s my dream!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

